Member Profile Fall 2018

Christy Markham

  1. Hometown: My hometown is Blue Springs, Mo. I finished high school there and then moved closer to the city. I enjoy being near and in the city much more, but also spend some time in the country at our family farm about 2 hours from KC.
  1. Role at Rime: I have been attending Rime for a little over 2 years now. I try to take every class offered and attend Sunday services often. I’ve studied Buddhism for many years and felt I needed to be a part of the Sangha more to cultivate my practice. I have taught a Mala making class at Rime, I loved it!
  1. Day job: My day job is an LPN currently with Jackson County Detention Center, which I’ve just recently accepted this position. I’ve been a nurse for over 12 years. I am also a yoga teacher when my normal day job allows.
  1. Hobbies: I enjoy reading, time with my children and family, road trips, making Malas, making a few furniture pieces for around the house with my son, studying many topics, ayurveda, photography for fun.
  1. What led you to the Dharma: I began my yoga journey when I was 16. This led to my studies of it’s history and origin which brought me to meditation, then it’s origins. I came upon Buddhism and many other Eastern studies, but felt a strong connection with Buddhist practices.
  1. Something a lot of people don’t know about you: I can drive a 53′ tractor trailer. I obtained a CDL license many years ago! Funny! And I am a grandmother!
  1. Buddhist book you would recommend: The Heart of the Buddha’s Teaching by Thich Nhat Than and Transforming Adversity into Joy and Courage by Geshe Jampa Tegchok